Information Portal of European Bishops' Conferences

European Bishops' Conferences

The Conference of Roman-Catholic Bishops in Ukraine (Latin Rite)


The Conference of Roman-Catholic Bishops in Ukraine was stablished 28 February 1992. It gathers 2 times a year. It comprehends 1 Archdiocese (Metropolitan) and 6 sufraganean dioceses. Currently there are in active: 1 Metropolitan Archbishop, 5 Bishops-Ordinary of dioceses and 5 Auxiliary Bishops (Retired bishops: 1 Cardinal, 4 Bishops).

The President and Vicepresident of the Conference are elected for 5 years with the posibility of a new election for the same term. The Secretary of the Conference is elected for 5 years but with no limitations for being elected again. The secretary can be a Bishop or a priest.

The Executive of the Conference is called "Presidium" and consists of the President, Vice-president, Secretary and Press-secretary.

There are 11 Comissions: Doctrine of faith, Relationships Church-State, Justice and Peace, Education in faith, Clergy and vocations, Lay People, Liturgy, Family, Mass-Media, Consecrated Life, Caritas-Spes, Sacred Arts, Enviroment & Tourism, Youth Ministry.

Largest dioceses: Kharkivsko-Zaporizhia Diocese (196,300 km2) and Odesko-Simferopol Diocese (138,000 km2). The smallest one: Mukachiv Diocese (12,777 km2) and Lutsk Diocese (40,300 km2)

First Dioceses founded: Lutsk Diocese (1361), Lviv Archdiocese (1375), Kamianets-Podilski Diocese (circa 1379), Kyiv-Zhytomyr Diocese (1404).

Diocese newly founded: Mukachiv Diocese (2002), Odesa-Simferopol Diocese (2002), Kharkiv-Zaporizhia Diocese (2002).

CCEE Members

H.E. Msgr. Mieczyslaw Mokrzycki, Archbishop of Lviv
H.E. Msgr. Vitalij Skomarovskyi, Bishop of Lutsk

The Conference of Roman-Catholic Bishops in Ukraine


Pl. Katedralna 1
UA-79008 Lviv


This site uses cookies simply to facilitate navigation. Info | Don’t show again