Information Portal of European Bishops' Conferences

European Bishops' Conferences

The French Bishops’ Conference

france logo


Established in 1964, the French Bishops’ Conference "has its raison d’être in respect for the authority of each bishop in the service of his particular Church (the diocese), in allowing all the bishops of France to exercise jointly their pastoral role and in promoting even more the good which the Church offers to humanity" (art. 2 of the Statutes of the French Bishops’ Conference).

Comprising the entirety of the bishops and Cardinals, the French Bishops’ Conference numbers aboout 120 members, from 101 dioceses. It meets twice a year in plenary assembly, and elects a permanent council and the presidents of the 8 commissions and 10 councils.


CCEE Members

France President PRESIDENT
H.E. Msgr. Georges Pontier, Archbishop of Marseille
France General Seretary SECRETARY GENERAL
Msgr. Olivier Ribadeau Dumas



58, av de Breteuil
FR-75007 Paris
Tel.: +33 1 72 36 68 00


This site uses cookies simply to facilitate navigation. Info | Don’t show again